

IAM Air Transport District 142

9633 S 48th St, Ste 100 Phoenix, Arizona 85044 816-982-6480 iamdl142@iamdl142.org

> Date: January 16, 2024 File: Flight Safety – 2024

RONALD "BUD" BROWN APPOINTED NEW FLIGHT SAFETY DIRECTOR OF IAM DISTRICT 142

Dear Sisters and Brothers:

With the retirement of District 142 Flight Safety Director John Hall on January 5, 2024, President/Directing General Chair John M. Coveny, Jr. has announced the appointment of Bud Brown as the new Flight Safety Director for District 142 effective January 5, 2024.

Brother Brown began his career with Piedmont Airlines in October of 1983 in Roanoke, VA. He quickly became involved with the Union as a Shop Steward and member of Local Lodge 2444. With the closure of the US Airways maintenance base in ROA in 1998, Bud transferred to CLT. Once in CLT, he continued to be involved with the IAM, serving as a Shop Steward and Grievance Committee member and serving Local Lodge 1725 as a Trustee, Conductor-Sentinel, and Secretary-Treasurer.

Flight Safety Coordinator John Hall recruited Bud into the Flight Safety team in 2000. In 2009 Bud was assigned to the Maintenance ASAP ERC (Event Review Committee) as an alternate member backing up Brother Hall, and then as an IAM full-time Maintenance ASAP ERC member in 2018 with American Airlines.

"Brother Brown brings a wealth of experience to this position after learning for many years from former Director John Hall," said District 142 President/Directing General Chair John Coveny. "He is stepping into a position that requires a level of professionalism for this team to function effectively in representing our members in many capacities. Brother Brown has demonstrated those qualities, and I am excited to see him continue to lead the Flight Safety teams at all of our represented airlines and with the industry in general."

Sincerely and fraternally,

John M. Coveny, Jr. President/Directing General Chair IAM District 142 James M. Samuel General Chair/Flight Safety Committee IAM District 142

JC/JS/td

cc: R. Johnsen, General Vice-President, Air Transport Territory
E. Fraser, Chief of Staff, Air Transport Territory
T. Regan, Airline Coordinator, Air Transport Territory
J. Carlson, Air Transport Coordinator
DL 142 Executive Board

POST ON ALL IAM BULLETIN BOARDS

2024 – 12